The Conversion Begins…..

Earlier I did a post about how I wanted to convert a cheap electric guitar I  have into a Cigar Box Guitar.  I have done some planning, and started work last night on this project.  Here  are some photos and comments:

The Guitar

The faceplate:

I removed the neck (4 screws) and the the backplate.  The backplate removed:

I had to cut the yellow grounding wire to take the faceplate off:

Then I cut the wire to the input jack and the old body was just a shell:

Then I took my cigar box- which will NOT look much like a cigar box when I am done.  I think I am going to paint, rather than stain, this project.  I laid the faceplate in the proper position so I could use it as a guide to cut the holes for the pickups:

The hard part is yet to come.  I have to cut a pretty tricky hole for the neck to fit and build bracing to hold it in place.  There is not much room to work with in a box this small!

Then I have to cut the bridge hole.  Then drill for the tone and volume knobs.  If Iscrew up any of them, I have to start all over!