Day 1- things are moving along quickly

I am pleased with my progress on Day 1 of my project.  Though, to be fair, this first one is to see how many mistakes I can make- then correct them the next time!

I bought almost all of the materials I needed today- so my total cost for my first 3 string guitar will be about $12.  Hey, back when they played these things no one had money!

Here is the box and the neck (both are notched to fit properly)

Here they are kind of together- just checking the fit of the notches, nothing is glued yet.

Here is another view:

Here is the neck-I decided to go fretless on this version- but I cut grooves to give the illusion of frets.

 Next up is gluing the thing together:

 So at the end of day 1, here is where I stand.  I did some light staining and have put on a coat of clear- with a few more to follow:

Tomorrow I still have to work on the finish, make some type of tuning head, a bridge, a saddle, AND I think I am going to make it electric- not by using a magnetic pickup (like a guitar would) but there is a neat little trick that costs about $5 and lets you plug the thing into an amplifier!

More later!